

## **STATECAPITOL**HONOLULU, HAWAI'I 96813

December 14, 2020

Mr. John De Fries, CEO Hawaii Tourism Authority 1801 Kalakaua Avenue Honolulu, HI, 96815

Dear Mr. De Fries:

**RE:** Safe Travels Program

As the Senate Special Committee on COVID-19 continues to assess the components and effectiveness of the State's current Safe Travels Program, it is clear that there are remaining gaps and inconsistencies in the State's enforcement of the Governor's existing quarantine order. Of particular concern to this Committee is the current enforcement levels within the City and County of Honolulu regarding follow-up calls and inperson visits.

In our December 9th committee meeting with the Lieutenant Governor and County Mayors, there was noticeable confusion as to how the traveler data is currently being transmitted to the county enforcement agencies. Additionally, no indication was made by any of the speakers that the Hawaii Tourism Authority (HTA) was still involved in the follow-up call aspects of the State's broader quarantine enforcement efforts.

We acknowledge that many of the components of the State's processes have changed rapidly over time. To ensure that our understanding of your role is up to date, we ask that you provide this Committee with information outlining the HTA's current responsibilities related to the collection of visitor data and any subsequent follow-up procedures created by that data collection. We hope to support the State and Counties in these efforts, but we must first ensure that our understanding of the current processes is accurate.

The Committee requests that you provide documentation of the requested information by **4:00 p.m.**, **Thursday, December 17, 2020.** Please email your response to all Senate Special Committee COVID-19 members. Should you have any questions, please contact Duncan Osorio at 586-6800 or via email at <a href="mailto:d.osorio@capitol.hawaii.gov">d.osorio@capitol.hawaii.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

Senator Donovan M. Dela Cruz Senator Jarrett Keohokalole Senator Michelle N. Kidani Senator Sharon Moriwaki Senator Kurt Fevella

Cc: County Mayors Senate President